Plant Pot Keepsakes

Anyone that knows me knows how much I LOVE a good sentimental gift! I find it so much more rewarding to give something that captures a memory, something that will last a lifetime and that has the power to, one day, take you back to the ‘good old days’ . Now that I am a mother I’ve become that person that thinks their child’s art work makes a totally legitimate present for anyone and everyone.

Anyway, I thought I would share our first masterpieces in case anyone wanted to use the same idea. It’s cheap, easy, fun and (I think) everyone genuinely loved them.

All you need is:

  • Plant pots (50p each from wilkinsons)
  • White paint (I used some leftover wall undercoat)
  • Bright finger paints (Pound shop)
  • Varnish

I painted two coats of white on to the plant pots to create an even, blank canvas and left them to dry for a couple of hours.

Exploring the paint

Exploring the paint

I was wary of Marley mixing all of the colours together and making that awful muddy brown colour so I stuck to light colours and offered him only two splodges of paint at a time. This was his first time using paint and he was truly in his element swishing all of the bright colours over his pallet (we used the tray from his high chair for this).

image (1)

I do believe this is how Van Gogh started out, no?

I let him loose on the plant pots and tried to have minimal involvement so that it was all his own work… I’m always a bit dubious over those children whose art work resembles anything other than squiggles and swirls! I don’t think we’ll be seeing his work hanging in a gallery anytime soon but it will always take me back to this beautiful stage he is in – messy, wild and without a care in the world.

For older kids it would be great to plant their own seeds so they could see the process from seed to flower.

We made these for Mother’s Day gifts but I’m sure they’d be appreciated for any occasion… Happy painting!

image (4)

Ta-Da! The finished result

Everything Mummy
3 thoughts on “Plant Pot Keepsakes

  1. really cute idea! my girl love anything messy so this would be right up there street also like that it can be for any age the older ones can get a bit more creative and the little ones can just have some fun making a mess!! thanks for linking up to #kidscorner x

    Like

  2. This is a really great idea for a toddler- well done on being brave with all that paint!! Thanks for sharing in #KidsCorner x

    Like

Leave a Reply

