Favourite Children’s Books

I’ve always thought there is something magical about children’s books. When I found out I was pregnant one of the first things I looked forward to was reading to my new baby. I couldn’t wait to dig out my childhood favourites and discover some new ones.

I have developed a bit of an addiction when it comes to buying books for Marley. He has so many – some he won’t enjoy until he can read himself and a lot that he likes ripping to pieces now. It means a lot to me that he enjoys reading and that as he grows he chooses to read instead of wanting to watch tele or play on a tablet. So I’m trying to get him interested while he’s little and impressionable.

Children's books

Marley’s mini library

Of course there are the obvious favourites that should be on every bookshelf; Roald Dahl books, The Gruffalo, Beatrix Potter’s collection etc. They really capture what it is to be a child and inspire their imaginations – they are great for children.

But recently I have found a new favourite. It isn’t a typical children’s book. There aren’t any extravagant bright pictures. It’s not a tale of magical creatures or a faraway land. It is simple and heartfelt and yes, it made me cry – very unusual for a book aimed at a child.

Children's books

Pictures from On the Night You Were Born

Children's books

The one I am talking about is called On the Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman. I read the first page and knew it was going to be a tear-jerker (it doesn’t take much).

On the night you were born,

the moon smiled with such wonder

that the stars peeked in to see you

and the night wind whispered,

“Life will never be the same.”

Because there never had been anyone like you… ever in the world.

Front Cover On the Night You Were Born

It’s more than just a children’s story book. It tells a child how individual and special they are, how the world was made a better place on the night they were born. I won’t say much more because I won’t do it justice but it truly is beautiful. It captures how I felt in those first few weeks perfectly. Every parent needs to read this book to their baby.

Children's books

Timeless Illustration

This will be one that I always come back to as Marley grows up, to remind him just how special he is.

What’s your favourite children’s book and why?

14 thoughts on “Favourite Children’s Books

  1. Hi there; saw your message on #mummymonday and linked your post for you. I’ll try and & see if I can tweet the host for you, for a Twitter share. It’s really easy to do. Add the badge code to the html text editor of your post, then switch back to the visual editor to see the badge, then update your post. Off to find your Twitter handle and all the best as you start joining in with linkys. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwww … what a lovely book. I like children’s books that tackle what might call, more adult topics. Martin & Pinter have a series about breastfeeding, birth etc. I can see why it brought tears to your eyes.

    We encourage my little one to read and he really enjoys books now. I’m not keen on the tearing of them, but that’s part of the learning process, hey. 🙂 #mummymonday

    Like

  3. What a lovely post and something I had never thought about keeping a record of. He has so many books as I can’t resist them. My favourite are the pop-up books but he tends to rip them out by mistake. When he was really little his favourite one was called “This Little Baby” and he got really animated at the baby faces looking back at him. Thanks for raking up that memory for me. It has made me smile. #mummymonday

    Like

  4. Thanks for this discussion. Great to get a list of potential new favorites.
    Not particularly original, but personally, I am a huge fan of Dr. Suess. The books are fun to read aloud with their tongue-twisty rhyme schemes and the illustrations are so appealingly whimsical. But the messages in the stories are really amazing, and can be appreciated on deeper and deeper levels as a child gets older. I love how he has characters speak truth to power (Bartholomew and the Oobleck and Yertle the Turtle) or preach messages of peace and environmentalism (The Butter Battle Book and the Lorax) or messages about thoughtfulness and consideration (Horton Hear a Who) or humility (The Big Brag and Gertrude McFuzz). I just think there’s a lot more to his stories than one sees at first glance and I have been able to use them to pivot off into such meaningful conversations with my sons.

    Like

    • Just because they’re well known doesn’t make them any less great! I haven’t read any of his books yet but I did watch The Lorax recently and absolutely loved it. The meaning behind it was quite powerful and sends a wonderful message to children. I will be definitely be adding those you’ve suggested to our collection. Thank you!

      Like

  5. I discovered this book soon after my little one was born and I blubbed when I read it, it is so beautiful! Baby has so many books already – I am actually on a buying ban currently as I was buying books ALL THE TIME. x

    Like

  6. This book looks amazing, I will definitely be looking into buying a copy for Monkey – we are a bit book mad in our house!! lol. But this one sounds very special in deed. Thank you for sharing 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

